Two Roads Diverged

Life is all about choices – so which choice is coming next?

I <3 Turkey

on October 24, 2012

Both the meat and the place.

But for now, I’ll be discussing the place (as the meat will not be a topic for another month or so for us Americans).

I can’t do it justice like my friend from Tinky Town, but I wanted to write a bit about the couple days I spent in this country.

This year was my first introduction to Muslim countries (Egypt, Palestine and Jordan), and by the time we got to Turkey, I’ll admit I did have some expectations of what I would find – how I’d be treated.

And once again my expectations were blown out of the water! Friendly people (like always!), and some very interesting perspectives.

Many of the Turkish people we met discussed with us how, while they are practicing Muslims, they have businesses to run, and so cannot always follow religious practices to a T.

As one man said though, “Just because I don’t do everything doesn’t mean I’m not a good Muslim or a good man!”

Hear hear!

It was so refreshing to find a country where they seemed to be blending new ideas with old.

I saw women my own age walking around!

And the women walked around dressed in full Muslim attire, or in jeans and tshirts. And they all interacted with one another! (I mean, t-shirted girls and fully attired ones)

No one yelled comments at me, nor commented on my, ”nice bosoms” (which in these countries was always hidden under long-sleeved shirts and scarves).

And the beauty of Istanbul and Kusadasi were INSANE!

I’m talking the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia (which blew my mind and took my breath away – hard to do when you’ve been in Europe awhile and Cathedrals all start to look the same), the Basilica Cistern, and one of the more impressive to me:

The Temple of Apollo.

Why is it so impressive? Well, it’s the exact twin of the seventh world wonder, the Temple of Artemis – but unlike the Temple of Artemis, many of the columns and walls are still around.

And talk about, “I can see why this became a world wonder!!”

So the beauty and history of – the parts I saw – Turkey were extraordinary.

And the food was so delicious! (Of course!)

And the people so nice!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But don’t worry – we did have our more colorful adventures, like getting lost in a cab with a non-English speaking driver for an hour.

Oh, and the Turkish carpet man who attempted to set all his carpets on fire to show us how sturdy they are.

Lessons learned:
Make sure I always enter a country with an open mind.

And beware of Turkish merchants when they pull out a lighter…
Turkish rugs

9 responses to “I <3 Turkey

  1. love the photographs and nice bossoms

  2. Great post and written far better than I could with fab pics (mine are always out of focus)

  3. becca3416 says:

    Did he really? What a creative salesman. I always need a fire-proof rug and no one ever has one!

    All of those pictures have me VERY envious right now. You must have had the best time.

  4. MissFourEyes says:

    I can’t believe he lit his carpets on fire! That is just marketing at its best

  5. turkischland says:

    Reblogged this on turkischland.

Comments? I love comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

