Two Roads Diverged

Life is all about choices – so which choice is coming next?

Movember – A Time to Remember

on November 7, 2012

Today I turn another year older.

And like New Years, I often find that birthdays make you reflect upon your life and your past. Especially in relation to family; and like Denise’s post about family memories I think about my own familial memories.

And since it’s Movember, I reflect on memories about the men in my family.

Photo credit: reocities.com/val_james/genealogy/family-photos

But, I don’t have any.

*Well – that’s not completely true. I have my dad, and of course a million wonderful memories to accompany him!

But grandfathers?

None.

Both my grandfathers passed away before my brother OR I were born. Cancer for one, heart disease for the other.

I loved my grandmother immensely, and appreciate her for the spectacular woman that she was. Strong, independent, daring. She was a woman not to be trifled with and to be admired.

But I know I missed out on something.

I’ve heard stories about those two amazing men. But I never got to meet them. Never got to spend time with them. Never got to have them watch my dance performances, or tell them about my life, or rejoice about my schooling.

I never got to hear their voices or give them a hug.

So what would be the one thing I want to stress to men about their health and why it’s important?

Men – you want to be there for your families.

To watch your kids grow up.

To meet your grandkids.

To be there for special events.

And for the ups and downs.

A shoulder to cry on. Arms to hug. Or hands to high-five.

Family. That’s why your health is important. If it’s not important to you – it is important to them.

Be sure to check out the official Bloggers for Movember kick-off and information here

13 responses to “Movember – A Time to Remember

  1. Le Clown says:

    Jillian not from McGill,
    I like this. I like how you remember the important women in your life, while acknowledging what you missed out by not knowing the men in your family. This was well written.
    Le Clown

  2. A tribute. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Jillian – what a moving post. It is so sad when we don’t get a chance to be with our grandparents – health is so important for so many reasons. Happy Birthday – I wish you cheer on this day of bittersweet memories.

  4. MissFourEyes says:

    First of all, Happy Birthday!
    This post is wonderful. Do it for family

  5. becca3416 says:

    Yes a million times! This made me want to call my grandpa.

  6. becca3416 says:

    OH, AND HAPPY FLIPPING BIRTHDAY WOMAN.

  7. The Hook says:

    A great cause to support. Good for you!

  8. I’ve been making fun of my dad’s awful Movember stache, but you’re inspired me to be more supportive.

Comments? I love comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

