Two Roads Diverged

Life is all about choices – so which choice is coming next?

6 Degrees of Separation

on January 28, 2013

So I’m sure most of you know of the concept of 6 Degrees of Separation, or if you don’t, well, I guess we’ll forgive you and I’ll give you the handy-dandy Wikipedia link.

Of course I’ve heard about 6DoS. But never really thought about it.

Until recently.

Sometimes you never know what commenting can lead you to learn!

Vyvacious meeting blog friends real life meetings

Thinking, “Hm, that’s interesting she feels that way, I gotta ask…

Blog meetings, meeting people online

“What if we had class together once?” I so innocently asked at the end. Because as two UCLA alums, that’s definitely how we would’ve gotten to know each other, right? CLASS!

Without thinking too much about it, I click through my other internet pages.

AKA: Facebook.

Ah, more planning for the Surprise Birthday Party for a friend.

I read through the messages, and come across one that catches my eye:

Meeting people online, online meeting, Vyvacious

Wait a minute.

Wait a minute!

A girl named Vyvy? That’s funny, I read a blog by a girl named “Vyvacious”.

Mistaking a comment as being about strippers?!

Vyvacious has a pretty dirty mind!

But it can’t be! That would be so coincidental!!

So I ask:

online meetings, meeting people online, Vyvacious

And so we’ve figured it out.

We’ve met on WordPress, been commenting on each other’s posts for months.

And we share some of the same friends!!

So this weekend, both Vyvacious and I prepared to celebrate our friend’s birthday.

And we prepared to meet in person.

meeting people online, online meetings, Vyvacious

This is what WordPress Badasses look like!

As with many of the blogs I read, I often found myself thinking as I read Vyvacious’ blog, “Man, I bet if we ever met in person, we’d totally get along!”

And you know what? We did.

And just like that, blog friend became real friend.


46 responses to “6 Degrees of Separation

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    Congratulations! That’s what blogging is all about!

  2. That is so cool! Don’t you love this small little world we live in? Now that you guys are IRL friends you should start a blog that’s The Adventures of Jill and Vy.

  3. twindaddy says:

    Very cool!

  4. calahan says:

    I considered attending UCLA, so does that mean we can still meet?

  5. That’s so cool!
    There are some bloggers that I’d love to meet in person.

  6. becca3416 says:

    Like…. can I come visit y’all?

  7. YOU GANGSTERS!!!!!

    I am so jealous that you guys met, and your worlds intersect. I don’t know what I’ll have to do to get in on that, but I’m ready to.

  8. MaximumWage says:

    Yeah the world gets smaller and smaller, For every wordpress and facebook out there that is. THIS IS AWESOME! I want a real life blogger friend! :-(

  9. vyvacious says:

    I LOVE THIS POST, JILL!!! <3 <3 Sooooo glad we got to hang out this past weekend and that I survived so we can continue hanging out! :) I also hope everyone else loves the sexy beard I made with my hair…because I think it's HAWT! ;)

    P.S. I do have a dirty mind… -.- Hahaha!

  10. MissFourEyes says:

    I love this! We live in a very very small world. You guys look BADASS!

  11. El Guapo says:

    Fantastic!
    So, no stripper then?

  12. Holy crap you always have the best stories! This is one of those amazing blogging moments where the truth is definitely stranger than fiction.

  13. Lily says:

    That’s awesome! I love when the world seems small like that. I’ve only met one blog friend but it was totally awesome and I couldn’t stop thinking about it forever!

  14. The Hook says:

    Great post! Remind me to never tick you off…

  15. Being the vain Gemini that I am, I can’t get over the fact that you graduated in 2010. 2010? I could be your mother in a bad made-for-TV movie! =p

  16. Nicole says:

    Hi Jillian,

    I’ve decided to Spotlight your blog for the month of February. You can read the blog post here: http://wp.me/p1B9zn-GB

  17. The Hook says:

    Check out my blog today for a much-deserved shout-out!

  18. [...] The first being my encounter with the ever looking-forward, optimistic, bright Vyvy. [...]

Comments? I love comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

