Two Roads Diverged

Life is all about choices – so which choice is coming next?

Bloggers Are Real People

on February 26, 2013

So the Wonderful Becca and Amazing Jen have been discussing the idea of Blogger Meetup 2013.

To which I gave a whole-hearteded:

THIS HAS TO HAPPEN!

“Why? Why would this be great?” Other bloggers may ask.

Well, I have two examples of why this would absolutely be amazing.

The first being my encounter with the ever looking-forward, optimistic, bright Vyvy.

In this instance, bloggers might say, “Well, you two had people in common, that changes things. Makes it easier!”

Well, more recently, I had a meetup with the always hilarious Calahan.

(Yes, these name descriptions are required.)

See, Calahan and I didn’t have any people in common! He and his beautiful wife were down in my area for a wedding that had nothing to do with anyone I knew!

And guess what?

We had a swimmingly awesome gathering! I mean, there’s that first awkward, “Shoot, who am I looking for? Although we’ve talked so much online I realize that I probably can’t pick them out of the crowd in front of the restaurant…”

I decided to be helpful and wear the shirt my mom had just given me for Valentine’s.

Oh Yes.

Oh Yes.

But after that: Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

We all talked for hours. Ate some great food. Hung out with ease really.

Because let’s be honest: if you have an awesome personality on your blog. Well, that’s you! And that means you’re awesome in person too.

We already know a bit of each person that we read. I mean, when I write, I know that I really do put myself into it, and I know so many other writers do too.

And as we already know each other that little bit – we should go that little bit farther.

The best reasons of all?

Because now, when I read Vyvy or Calahan, I get to put a face to the stories. I get to put a voice with it too.

And I know my life has been enriched all the more for getting to know them.

30 responses to “Bloggers Are Real People

  1. Jennifer says:

    I so want to do this, and would so wear the shirt!

  2. becca3416 says:

    Jillian! I am so excited that everyone seems so on board with this. I agree wholeheartedly about the whole enriching our lives thing. This isn’t something a lot of people can say they were a part of, you know? I am working on narrowing down the locations today and Jen and I will be posting an update SOON!

  3. calahan says:

    We were actually bummed that we had to cut it short after only a few hours because, yeah, we were having a great time hanging out with you. Next to the open bar at the wedding, you were definitely the highlight of our trip. :)

  4. MaximumWage says:

    Whoa whoa whoa.. This really is happening. HOLY CRAP. Whats the theme?

  5. El Guapo says:

    Definitely a thrill to meet bloggers in real life.
    I’m looking forward to my next one.

  6. That shirt is HI-larious. I would totally do a blogger meet-up! Cinci bloggers where you at?!

  7. I NEED THAT SHIRT.

    Thanks for spreading the word, J.

  8. The Hook says:

    You’d enrich any meeting you attedned, young lady!

Comments? I love comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

