Two Roads Diverged

Life is all about choices – so which choice is coming next?

Quarter of a Century Discovery

on November 12, 2013

So last week, I turned 25.

A quarter of a century.

I can now rent cars without an extra underage fee!

But I didn’t do that for my birthday.

See, I like to try and keep things interesting.

For my 21st – I was in Scotland.
22nd – Skydiving
23rd – Bungy Jumping in Greece (technically it was months later, and my 23rd was just celebrated in Greece, but I’m including it anyway ^.^)
24th – Hang-gliding

So this year was the question: What to do next?

I decided, this was the year for TRAPEZE

Practicing a trick

Practicing a trick

I had thought about it last year, but decided against it, as I thought, “You have to have loads of upper body strength!”

Just so you all know, that is false.

Being strong helps of course, but is not necessary.

Trapeze involves a lot of judging when you’ve reached the height of an arc, then you use the weightlessness created by your downward fall to move into other positions.

I was totally able to do this!

Just not always able to let go at the right time…

Having your parents crack up at you?

Well, makes you laugh too actually ^.^

It was a great experience – an HOUR and a HALF of trapeze!!!

And the last two tries involved catching. You know, the legit someone-is-on-another-trapeze-and-catches-you-midair catching!

They were like, “That was good – let’s try it with the splits!!”

And I replied, “… … … fiiiiiiine… … …” (I was SUPER excited at that prospect, as you can see…)

But then I did pretty darn good.

It was a splendid time – so great, that I think I’ve discovered a new hobby! A quarter of a century into my life!!

But as the 81 year old woman who was trapeze-ing told me. It’s never too late to start something new :)


10 responses to “Quarter of a Century Discovery

  1. Jennifer says:

    Happy birthday!! And well done on the trapeze.

  2. Bill McCurry says:

    Fantastic! And happy birthday!

  3. El Guapo says:

    happy birthday!
    Can’t wait to see what you come up with next year.

  4. Happy birthday!
    That’s a great way to spend your day.
    When/if I ever turn 25 (I’m stuck in 23, been there for a long time) I should try the trapeze too.
    Those catches look pro.
    Have a good day!

  5. Aussa Lorens says:

    Holy crap! Trapezing?! I am way WAY impressed. There is no way… I can’t even properly hang on the monkey bars. Mad props.

Comments? I love comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

